A Prescription for Lower Costs

As a money-saving mom, I’ve mentioned the importance of “shopping around” in regards to several things: groceries, school supplies, clothes, etc. But I have to say, I never really thought about shopping around to find the best deal on prescriptions. Every time I need to fill a prescription, I go to the same pharmacy and never think twice about the price…even when spending close to $100.

But thanks to an extremely helpful conversation with Greater Heights wrestling moms Barb and Jen, I have a new outlook on prescriptions! Different retailers really do charge different prices for the same meds. Barb and Jen touted Walmart and Sam’s as having the lowest prices as well as offering the largest selections of generic meds. And seriously, you can see HUGE savings, especially if you have a big family like me!

Now there’s a chance you’ll spend more time standing in line at one of these retailers, but the wait will definitely be worth it. But if you think ahead and avoid the busiest pick-up times (i.e. weekends) you can save time AND money!

I’m so intrigued by this that I did further online research and found THIS helpful article on other ways to save on prescription drugs. Check it out!

Knowing what I know now, I would say prescriptions were a big budget leak in our house, but not anymore. Now on to tackle ways to avoid other budget leaks! And speaking of, I’ll be on KCTV-5 next Sunday, March 18, sharing tips for plugging those pesky budget leaks. What are your biggest budget leaks?

Explore posts in the same categories: Personal finance, Tips

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

