Salad in a jar

Ok, before you judge, hear me out.

My friend, Rachel, recently introduced me to a new way to plan out my lunches – in Mason jars! (She totally surprised me by making all of my lunches for one week and had them waiting in my fridge. It was one of the best surprises ever.) I’ve embraced this new technique and now make my lunches and my husband’s lunches in jars. All you have to do is pack them in your lunch box and they’re ready to go when you’re ready for lunch. No plastic baggies necessary, which also saves you money and is better for the environment!

Salad in a jar

My latest favorite lunch-in-a-jar is salad…and I make all different types of salads! What I love most about these recipes is that they are super-healthy and you can get most of the ingredients (the ones you don’t already have in your pantry) at the farmers’ market. I wanted to share a couple of my favorite salad recipes with you. Please note, these portions are per one large Mason jar and are listed in layer order, which is extremely important as you don’t want the dressing touching the lettuce or spinach.

Berry Salad

  • 2 to 3 tablespoons of raspberry vinaigrette (or your favorite dressing)
  • ¼ cup of strawberries (cut up) and blueberries (any of your favorite berry will do)
  • ½ cup of diced cooked chicken (or shredded rotisserie)
  • 1 cup of mixed lettuce and or spinach
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons of feta cheese
  • 2 tablespoons of almonds or sunflower seed – I recommend not putting these in your jar to ensure they stay extra crunchy

Taco Salad

  • 2 to 3 tablespoons French dressing or salsa
  • ¼ cup of diced or grape tomatoes
  • ½ cup of kidney and black beans
  • 2 tablespoons of shredded cheese
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons of frozen corn (canned will work fine, too)
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons of Greek yogurt or sour cream
  • ½ of diced chicken (or shredded rotisserie)
  • 1 cup of mixed lettuce and or spinach
  • Crushed tortilla chips, but again, I recommend keeping these separate so they stay crunchy

Have I piqued your interest? To learn other salad-in-a-jar tips, click HERE or HERE or HERE. I try to do this every other week so I don’t completely get burned out on salads…but I must say that I definitely crave these salads on my “off weeks.” Enjoy!

Explore posts in the same categories: Recipes

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Salad in a jar”

  1. Carla Wyse Says:

    Very Very cool. I will so be trying this! :0)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

